14th Annual Words from the Street Creative Writing Contest Judges

veahavtalogoVe’ahavta and the Toronto Writers Collective would like to thank the
following people for contributing their time to serve as judges for the 14th Annual Words from the Street Creative Writing Contest.

David Bezmozgis is an award-writing writer and filmmaker. He is the author of the story collection Natasha and Other Stories (2004) and the novels The Free World (2011) and The Betrayers (2014). David’s stories have appeared in numerous publications including The New Yorker, Harpers, Zoetrope All-Story and The Walrus.

Christie Blatchford has written for all four Toronto-based newspapers. She has won a National Newspaper Award for column writing and in 2008 won the Governor-General’s Literary Award in non-fiction for her book Fifteen Days: Stories of Bravery, Friendship, Life and Death from Inside the New Canadian Army.

Gail Benick’s fiction and non-fiction writing explores the plight of immigrants and their transition from one world to another. She is the author of the recently published novella The Girl Who Was Born That Way (2015) and short stories published in a variety of Canadian Jewish publications. She has taught courses on multicultural literature at Sheridan College.

Matti Friedman is an Israeli Canadian journalist and author. His first book, The Aleppo Codex, won the 2014 Sami Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature. His second book, about Israeli infantrymen holding an isolated outpost in Lebanon, will be published next year. Matti lives in Jerusalem.

Paul Garfinkel is currently a professor in the Department of Psychiatry at the University of Toronto and staff psychiatrist at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) where he was CEO from 1997 to 2009. He is the author and editor of nine books including A Life In Psychiatry: Looking out, Looking in (2015). Dr. Garfinkel has received many honours for his work including Officer of the Order of Canada.

Yoni Goldstein is an Israeli born filmmaker, cinematographer and editor, who has recently become the new editor of The Canadian Jewish News. His writing has also appeared in the Jerusalem Report, Maclean’s magazine, the National Post, Huffington Post, The Globe and Mail, the Wall Street Journal and Haaretz.

Barbara Herring is President of a research and consulting firm that specializes in equity and diversity. She has taught a course in Needs Assessment and Program Evaluation at Ryerson University as well as a course in International Trade Research for Mohawk College and Fanshawe College. Dr. Herring is currently working with new immigrants in Peterborough, Ontario.

Renate Krakauer has served in executive positions at the municipal and provincial government level. She was president and CEO of the Michener Institute of Applied Health Sciences. She has written and published numerous short stories and essays; a memoir, But I Had A Happy Childhood, for the Azrieli Foundation series of Holocaust memoirs; and a novel, Only by Blood.

Diana Cohen Krantz taught at an alternative private school that allowed her to offer her students ample opportunities for creative written expression. Her first novel, A White Trail, was published in 2015. Like the novel’s main protagonist she worked in the field of health administration, which informs the settings and trial that take place in the book.

Jonathan Mendelsohn is a freelance journalist, a writing consultant and a professor at York University. He has written non-fiction for The Globe and Mail, the Toronto Star and The Toronto Review of Books. His fiction has been published in Prism International. He is currently working on a novel.

Brenda Zosky Proulx is an award-winning former journalist (feature writer Canadian National Newspaper Award) and Concordia University journalism teacher. She is program creator and co-founder of one of the leading national youth violence prevention organizations in Canada – Leave Out Violence (LOVE) which currently runs media-based educational and leadership programs in Toronto, Montreal, Vancouver, Halifax and New York City. She is currently working on a novel.

Robert J. Sawyer is one of only eight writers in history — and the only Canadian — to win all three of the world’s top Science Fiction awards for best novel of the year: the Nebula (for The Terminal Experiment – 1996), the Hugo (for Hominids – 2003), and the John W. Campbell Memorial Award (for Mindscan – 2006).

Howard Shrier is a two-time winner of the Arthur Ellis Award, Canada’s highest prize for excellence in crime fiction. His debut, Buffalo Jump, won for Best First Novel in 2009; High Chicago was named Best Novel of 2010. His other books include Boston Cream, Miss Montreal and Lostport. Mr. Shrier teaches writing at U of T’s School of Continuing Studies.

Teresa Toten published her first book, Onlyhouse, in 1995. She has subsequently published a number of books including The Game and the anthology Piece By Piece: Stories about fitting into Canada. She has received a Governor General’s Award for Children’s Literature (2013), the Ruth and Sylvia Schwartz Children’s Book Award (2014) and the Canadian Librarian’s Association Honour Book Award (2014).

Margaret Wente is one of Canada’s leading columnists. As a writer for The Globe and Mail since 1992, she provokes heated debate with her views on health care, education and social issues. She is winner of the National Newspaper Award for column-writing, and she has received numerous other journalism awards.

David Wintre is a retired business person with an interest in the law, philosophy, and literature. He is moderating a course at Ryerson University’s LIFE Institute in which he will encourage participants to see history and philosophy as “ourselves writ large” through the magnifying lens of great trials.

Kyle Wyatt is the former managing editor of The Walrus magazine. His involvement in writing has included teaching at the University of Toronto and editing for the journal Studies in American Indian Literature. He is the co-winner of two National Magazine Awards (gold) for Best Single Issue and Words and Pictures (2013).


Social Share Buttons and Icons powered by Ultimatelysocial